• First Oakville Toastmasters

Congrats First Oakville Toastmasters

According to the dictionary, awesomeness is an inspiring and overwhelming feeling of reverence, an admiration that induces awe.

Awesomeness is ALSO the following:

Since September 7th, 2017 we have had 871 members and guests walk into our meetings.

We have had a cumulative total of 142 guests (includes repeat guests) and not one week where we haven’t had a guest join us.

119 speeches were delivered

13 new members

10 educations awards

We earned our President’s Distinguished status as of February.   We hosted 2 open houses with guest speakers John Ribeiro, DTM and Gregory C.N Smith, DTM, 5 education sessions and a very cool Parliamentary Procedure workshop led by Dennis Bartel, DTM.

Our Area Director, Lou Mulligan handed out the Area trophies and recognized First Oakville Toastmasters for winning 3 of the 4 Area 87 contests this season.  Congratulations to Cheryl Etherington (1st Place Humorous Contest), Marion West (1st Evaluation Contest) and Fei Sun ( 1st International Speech Contest).    Congratulations on your awesome achievements.

Congratulations to Alonso Mendizabal for winning Toastmaster of the Year award.  Alonso served as VP Public Relations; he earned his Competent Communicator and Competent Leadership education awards.  He has delivered several speeches and an education session about Delegating to Empower.  He has served on the Charter Party, Christmas Party, and the summer party committees and he has attended 34 of our meeting on missing two this year!  In addition to all this awesomeness, Alonso is also our club’s incoming president for the 2018-2019 year.

We also had the pleasure of recognizing our members who have achieved education awards.  Cheryl Etherington and Scott Richardson earned their Competent Communicator.  Mark Molder earned his Advanced Communicator Silver.  Veronica Costa earned her Level 1 Pathways award and Tanouja Rama earned Level 1 and Level 2.  Congratulations to all!

As you can see this year has been full of awesomeness and it would not have been possible without all the hard work and dedication shown by our outgoing executive committee.  Toastmasters:   Danny Luu, Samantha Tam, Cheryl Etherington, Alonso Mendizabal, Luke Jin, Allan Osborne, and Rebecca Valero.

Thank you to our awesome membership.  Wishing you an AWESOME summer break.  Soak up the sun, get outside and we look forward to seeing everyone on Thursday, September 6th to continue another year of awesomeness.

Lou Mulligan Area 87 Director 2017-2018, Shelly Orchin Incoming Area 87 Director and Incoming Club President, Alonso Mendizabal 

For Further Inquiries Email Us


Contact Us

Meeting Location

79 Jones St, Oakville, ON


L6L 3E6

Meeting Time

Every Thursday 7:15 pm- 9:30 pm EST

  • eventbrite-logo-11562962093pjuzn3gwef_ed
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • YouTube